Musical Meme-ories

A TAG HAS COME IN TO MY TWEET BOX!

The smashing bloke that is

Not Just Another Blogger

has tagged me in a music meme. I loves music I do. The hardest part was actually remembering the answers because of the kids, y’know, STEALING ALL MY BRAINCELLS THROUGH LACK OF SLEEP.

Sorry, I’m a bit shouty at the moment. It’s been a long day. Anyway rules. a) link back b) answer same 7 questions c) tag dudes and dudesses (is that even a word?). GO!

1) What was the first 7 inch single you bought?

I can vividly remember being at Primary School and having a massive crush on a blond girl called Julie Francis. I got a kiss off her a couple of times and she smelled of strawberries. She was madly in to Adam and the Ants and so, of course, I was madly in to Adam and the Ants. I saved up all my pocket money for an Adam and the Ants single – any single – and the one that came out when I had enough was Deutscher Girls in a double A side with Plastic Surgery (on re-release)  It was from their punk days when they used to hang out with Derek Jarman. I think my parents would have preferred it if I’d got Prince Charming.

2) What was the first full album you bought ? (Any format)

Albums took much more time to save up for and I had other stuff to buy so I think I got my first one by myself quite late on. I can remember listening to Introducing The Hardline According to Terrence Trent D’Arby, Gracelands by Paul Simon and Picture Book by Simply Red, all on vinyl on my Dad’s stereo. Based purely on release date I’m guessing Picture Book was my first.

3) What album do you own that you are most embarrassed to own up to?

Oh fark. Errrr……*thinks hard*…….

As an indie kid who turned in to a dance kid I made avoiding anything in the charts an absolute policy so I don’t really have any one album wonders or truly embarrassing bands in my collection. That’s not to say I don’t have quite a bit of dreadful music of course. *Looks in collection* The below is actually pretty dreadful. My wife has Roxette’s greatest hits though. Fucking awful but at least it only lasts 3 minutes.

4) What was the last album you bought?

The Ting Tings – Sounds from Nowhereville. I got it on Amazon and it only came last week so I haven’t listened to it properly. Sorry for such a dull answer. B-. Can do better.

5) What is your most favourite album of all time?

It’s between The Stone Roses by The Stone Roses, Loaded by Primal Scream, Innervisions by Stevie Wonder and The Seldom Seen Kid by Elbow. Don’t make me choose. I could sit on this particular fence until the splinters worked their way in to my body through my bum-skin and back out of my mouth again. And to compensate for that horrible mental image have a track

6) What is your favourite song of all time?

Someone asked me this on another meme and I said Open Arms by Elbow but I have had a rethink (again this is something I rethink often). My current thinking is Bohemian Rhapsody by Queen. Musically it’s still one of the most complex singles ever made. The lyrics are mental and EVERYONE knows them. It’s one of those songs you and all your mates sing along to when you’re tipsy with your arms round each other. And Freddie is possibly the greatest showman ever. I haven’t got a lot of Queen but I could listen to this over and over again.

7) If you could use 3 words to describe your musical tastes what would they be?

Eclectic but outdated.

Erm, tags onwards.

Comfort In Sounds

Mother Venting (because it’s been AGES since I tried to make her do anything like this)

First Time Daddy

You are it should you so choose.

, , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by motherventing on April 24, 2012 - 11:26 am

    You are just too persuasive. Good job I like music memes innit *glares balefully*

    Oh, am loving Stevie btw 🙂

    • #2 by slightlysuburbandad on April 24, 2012 - 7:14 pm

      I love Stevie, apart from ‘Isn’t She Lovely’ which makes me want to barf in to a hat. Thanks for taking the tag.

  1. Music « motherventing

Leave a Reply

