The Great Gig Meme In The Sky

So the great ex-blogger @musodad is actually a session blogger now! He has started a gig meme and I have been tagged by the wonderful and also very musical Not Just Another Blogger. You can see his post here and musodad’s guest meme session post type thing here.

When I read the original I was thinking ‘please tag me, please tag me’. I love lots of music and spent much of my twenties at gigs and clubs listening to bands and dancing to DJ sets. However that was then and this is now and writing this has made me realise it has been far too long since I’ve been to one and that, these days I would likely be mistaken for a bouncer or backstage manager. Anyway, I digress, here’s what you need to do to complete the meme.

– name your first / worst / best / last / dream gig

– drag in your 5 favourite songs from the 5 bands in to the Spotify playlist Musodad created (or tweet him to add if you’re not on Spotify)

Here we go.

First Gig / Worst Gig

These were one and the same. When I was 16 I did an exchange with a French student from Paris. I was over there at the same time as Madonna was doing a big open air gig ‘somewhere’ in Paris. What’s more they had got me tickets. This pissed me off no end. For one thing I was a mainstream indie kid listening at the time to The Smiths, The Cure and The The (I probably had some kind of rule that a band had to have ‘The’ in their name before I’d play them so ‘The The’ were a bonus). Madonna was not on my musical radar. The tickets were also exorbitantly expensive and my parents, being unaware of their purchase, had not equipped me with suitable Francage. We went anyway. Madonna was about 200 miles away, she mimed and all the French kids let off tear gas at the end. It is to this day the worst music event I have ever attended. The cheeky bastards even wrote to my Mum asking for the ticket money when I got home. Grrr

Track added – Madonna / Sorry (Green Velvet Remix Edit)

Best Gig

Let me take you back to the very early 90s. Primal Scream have just released the now classic album Screamadelica. They’re touring it and I have tickets for the Brighton Event. So does my brother. He’s going with his uber cool and trendy music friends and I’m going with some football fans of dubious reputation. The Orb warm up. The Scream are brilliant, tight , funky and bonkers. Andy Weatherall then DJs till 2 in the morning playing a mix of indie, hip-hop and early house. The trendies and the North Stand regulars end up dancing together. EVERYONE dances together. For a brief time the vibe is music and love and anything is possible.

Track added – Primal Scream / Loaded

Last Gig

Here’s where it gets embarrassing. We have not been to a gig since the kids were born and a bit more. My last gig was when we were still living abroad and I was working all over Asia Pacific. It was Bob Dylan and Ani Difranco in Sydney. Ani was mad and political. Bob was slurry and bluesy. The songs were unrecognisable. My wife was disappointed. Since then we HAVE been to CBeebies live (and the Tweenies), missed out on the Pulp gig that all our mates went to and I missed getting Lee ‘Scratch’ Perry tickets by about a day. I need to get out more.

Track added – Bob Dylan / Like a Rolling Stone

Dream Gig

Between Elbow or Terry Callier. I love both but have been too rubbish to see either live. Elbow just shade it because I’m a Dad blogger and it’s compulsory for us to like  Elbow.

Track added – Elbow / Open Arms

So now I have to tag people and they are:

The J Daddy – yes AGAIN. Yes I didn’t do your 12 question one and am still working on it’s sub-varient. But I know you have a not-so-secret music sock puppet on Twitter. So there.

mummyglitzer – revenge!

mutteringsofafool – because I haven’t in a while.

TAG!

  1. #1 by jbmumofone on April 4, 2012 - 6:59 pm

    I LOVE Bob Dylan, and my next gig is Bruce Springsteen…again…and CANNOT WAIT!

    • #2 by slightlysuburbandad on April 4, 2012 - 7:18 pm

      Springsteen nearly made it to the Dream Gig on the back of one of my football mates who’s also a music nut rating him as one of the best live acts out there. I would have tagged you but for the fact you’re already doing the A-Z but feel free to have a go, I think that was an original Musodad rule I forgot.

      • #3 by jbmumofone on April 4, 2012 - 8:05 pm

        He is one of, if not THE, the best live act out there. This year will be the first time I have seen the E-street band without Clarence though. *Weeps a bit*.

  2. #4 by musodad on April 4, 2012 - 7:24 pm

    Mate, that Madonna story was bloody funny! Wish I was at that Primal Scream gig, sounded amazing.

    Thanks for taking part and for being so excited about doing it. I was a bit nervous as my last meme bombed (no-one did it) but two people have already done this one after a day and that makes me very happy. Listening to the playlist now and ‘Loaded’ is currently on – great song choice.

    jbmumofone, even if you don’t get tagged, please go ahead and get involved – I am loving everyone’s gig stories and can’t wait to read yours too. :o)

  3. #5 by JallieDaddy on April 17, 2012 - 9:19 am

    Sacre Bleu!: the Madonna debacle is a right rip-off! I’m very jealous of you seeing Primal Scream, that sounds great. And oddly enough I think I’d have enjoyed Dylan, slurry blues & all: in fact I fregretted not seeing him in 2010 & he was a candidate for my Dream Gig! Great post

  1. Music Monday: The Great Gig Meme In The Sky | Whiskey For Aftershave
  2. The great gig meme in the sky | Mutterings of a fool

Leave a Reply

