A Mother

I burst in through the door after a long day. “Daddy!” say the kids and come running. This must really piss you off after you’ve looked after them all day. It would me. And yet you say “go and give Daddy a cuddle” with a smile.

They’re well fed. They’re happy. Probably Peppa Pig is on. Probably Boy is drawing or buried in a book. Probably Baby has emptied the kitchen cupboard 30 times since lunchtime. Maybe she’s not slept. I don’t know. I’ve just come in. And yet you beat yourself up about the little things that have gone wrong and you let them hug me and you let me bath and bed them. They couldn’t have a better mother.

And you lot out there? You SAHMs and PTWFHMs and those of you juggling a career and kids. Let it be known that I’m in awe of you too. Most of us Dads are I’d like to think. Raising the next generation. Evolution. Progress. Love. Care. The most important job there is.

And what thanks do you get? Constant judgement whether it’s tutting on the bus or looks at the playgroup or the honking of horns from the impatient drivers or the health visitor who’s looking down her nose at you or Gina ‘Goddammedfuckinidiot’ Ford. Or in the case of single mothers – those doing the hardest job with the least support – you get to be scroungers and loose women thanks to a rabid right wing press and values that should have been banished half a century ago. Great isn’t it.

Mums everywhere – I hope no-one judges you this Sunday. I hope you have a great day with your kids. You deserve it. Happy (UK) Mother’s Day for Sunday.

.

.

.

.

.

Does this get me off the ironing?

  1. #1 by Rollercoaster Mum on March 17, 2012 - 11:30 am

    Thank you from a Mum – you just made me cry – despite the ironing comment. I’m not sure I am quite as valued as your other half – at least I’ve never been told so. Hopefully you have told her this or she reads your blog. Happy Mothers Day to her and well done you.

  2. #2 by The Crumby Mummy on March 21, 2012 - 4:50 pm

    Just seen this. How nice! Hope it got you out of the ironing! ;o)

Leave a Reply

