Reflections On A Dead iPhone

This week’s sunfun is hosted at mammasaurus I actually had a visual one this week but the photos were in just one place, my iPhone. As you will see posting them is now impossible so you’re going to have to read a rant about the dead phone instead. One that I knocked up in 5 minutes. Sorry. It also contains a very naughty word not once but twice. Apologies for that too but I’ve found using it is unavoidable when talking about Apple stores. Finally I also can’t get the linky badge to work. It’s been a bad morning.

My iPhone is dead. At 10.24 on Saturday morning I was at a soft play area with Baby and it has one of those mirrors with sides where you can see 4 of yourself from the right angle. She was stood at it and I was behind her at the right place to see 4 babies. I thought ‘that’s utterly terrifying’. Then I thought what a good Saturday caption or Silent Sunday it would make and I pulled out the phone to take a picture and as I did Baby moved. I clicked it back on to hold and put it back in my pocket and that would be the last time I used it. Every time I have tried to use it since it has resolutely refused to do anything. I’ve tried charging it non-stop. I’ve tried heart massage. Last night I pronounced it. Fittingly I did so on Twitter.

So now I have to get it a) fixed, b) upgraded or c) changed and this is going to take a while. It might also involve a trip to be patronised at the Cunt Genius Bar. It’s going to leave me Smartphone-less and I have just started to consider how much I actually did with it. It was my alarm clock, my cooking timer, my camera. It caused me plenty of embarrassment, like the photo of me at my Mum’s summer party checking Facebook. I paid it back by dropping it, leaving it in places where Baby could eat it and using it on the loo. I was, on reflection, a careless owner.

Most of all, over these next few days I am going to miss Twitter on the move. How can I tell people Baby’s had the two bob bits in the bath (again)? How can I crack that priceless gag about Masterchef? Ask @motherventing if Moo is covering her in Vom? Wind up Palace fans? I am going to have to look after the kids properly. Read books and newspapers. Concentrate on the television. Spend bus rides as bored as everyone else. Not take my ‘at the time’ frustration out on train companies. Use the toilet for it’s original and correct purpose. Nuts.

On reading back it may just not be such a bad thing. I may become a better human being for a few days. I might even secretly be looking forward to it. All except that trip to the Cunt Genius Bar

  1. #1 by Mammasaurus on February 19, 2012 - 10:12 am

    You’ll have a glimpse of normality – followed back a week of going mental on Twitter getting re-acquainted with your new phone!

    RIP phonie

  2. #2 by Five Go Blogging on February 19, 2012 - 1:19 pm

    Poor you. I had 4 days (YES FOUR DAYS) without any interwebulator connection this week and I was shocked at the amount of time I had available to sulk!

  3. #3 by Laura @Chez_Mummy on February 19, 2012 - 3:24 pm

    It’s amazing how lost we can feel when we can’r use our phones for a while. Like you say, it’s not just about not being able to make calls but also how much we rely on them for other things. Good luck for surviving the next few days without your phone

  4. #4 by Emily (@amummytoo) on February 19, 2012 - 9:01 pm

    I feel your pain (and love your name for the Genius Bar)

  5. #5 by Actually Mummy... on February 19, 2012 - 10:40 pm

    I pity you for your impending interaction with the mobile phone people – not good. But then if you will read the headlines on the loo…..

  6. #6 by jbmumofone on February 20, 2012 - 11:44 pm

    LOL…I think the world may literally END if I lost my I-Phone. Damn you Apple for being xuch evil geniuses…genius’…genii? You know what I mean 😉

Leave a Reply

