A Trip To The Dentist

Today I was working from home, and then only for half a day for I had to go to the Dentist for a check up. More worryingly so did Boy. He’s been before of course because as I posted earlier he’s had teeth since he was 15 months but they haven’t been proper check up appointments. He’s gone with one of us and the Dentist has had a quick and subtle check. But last time I went I registered him and then we got the Dreaded Card That Says His Appointment Must Be Made.

I wasn’t that worried. He is a good if fussy tooth brusher. By fussy I mean “will only use Berry flavoured toothpaste and then only the one made by Morrison’s”. Mint is an absolute no-no. Even the Sainsbury’s berry one was regarded with suspicion and then complained about. Loudly. But as long as we have the Morrison’s one in Boy cleans his teeth faithfully.

Boy was worried. I assumed it was because he was genetically programmed to be apprehensive of the Dentist. Both his parents are apprehensive of the Dentist. But it took a lot of coaxing to find out that he was worried about something completely obscure. Having his teeth checked was fine and he understood They Would Not Be Doing Drilling. What he was actually scared of was the chair that goes up and down. I’m pretty sure that when I was a kid that was the only good part of a trip to the Dentist but I guess I’m assuming. I can’t really remember when I was 5. I can’t really remember last week. Anyway I promised him he would not have to sit in the chair that went up and down and then I crossed my fingers.

When I picked him up I could tell he was nervous because when he is then he talks non stop. Also he asks ‘why’ to everything. He was doing both of these things only so loudly he was more asking the whole bus than me. When we got there they were running late and so he asked the same questions to the whole waiting room. Then we were called in and guess what? The Dentist had put out a little chair that did not go up and down and she had a little look in his mouth just like she had before and he got a sticker and that was it. I had kept my promise. It had been alright.

The other thing that had always scared him was climbing bus stairs to the top deck while it was moving. On the way home we went on the top deck and he charged up the stairs like Sherpa Tensing. Two fears conquered in one day.

The dentist said he had lovely teeth and clean teeth and was a very good Boy indeed and I glowed with Dad pride.

I on the other hand have to have 2 bastard fillings.

, , , ,

  1. #1 by Expat Mammy on January 25, 2012 - 8:20 pm

    ah glad he was ok, there is actually a book called harry and his bucket full of dinosaurs go to the dentist, it might help with the next visit

  2. #2 by slightlysuburbandad on January 25, 2012 - 8:37 pm

    Thanks, i have a book just called Harry and the Bucket Full of Dinosaurs that he loves but I’ve never seen the Dentist one, I’ll look out for it.

  3. #3 by Writing Jobs on January 26, 2012 - 1:48 am

    This was a very nice post. I enjoyed reading your blog today very much.

    Enjoy Writing? Join Us Today

    Top Writing Jobs

Leave a Reply

