Is it a Boy or a Girl?

Sunday Funny

A mildly amusing (some may say gentle comedy) rant about old people and babies as part of the Sunfun linky ting going on at actuallymummy.

I realise that this is not exactly an original subject. In fact I’m getting flashbacks to Mother Venting’s marvellous Ears post just typing this. That’s because very often babies seem to be an ok signal for strangers to come up to you and talk to you about them. Some of these people are nice. Some are bonkers. As they’re mostly elderly most are nice AND bonkers.

Anyway today I got on the bus back from town with baby in her Snow Suit. Admittedly the main colour of her Snow Suit is blue but it’s a very light blue, almost aquamarine. And here’s the thing. It’s covered in fucking huge pink flowers. The women next to me starts asking questions about baby to which I reply in the gender specific  because I’m, y’know, normal. Bonkers Woman isn’t .

BW:  Is it your first?

Me:  No she is my second. Her brother is at home.

(At this point my answers are irrelevant. She’s spotted the blue bit of the suit, ignored the flowers and decided Baby is a boy).

BW: He’s very big isn’t he?

Me: Yes, she’s tall. (97th percentile on the Health Visitor ‘make parents feel like shit’ scale).

BW: He is a boy isn’t he? Boys are such hard work. *descends in to unintelligible babble*

And so on.

Baby is most obviously a girl. Her hair may have not grown long but it was covered by the hood which is covered in fucking huge pink flowers. She has long fluttery eyelids. One of her first words was ‘shoes’. She can spot bling at forty paces. She’s a girl and God help me she looks like a girl. Just because we don’t deck her out in uniform pink every day of the week with a Little Princess sticker on the back of the buggy and ribbons in her non-existent hair and…..   *beats head on wall*.

Bonkers Old People of the world. I think I am a nice person and I will happily answer any question you have regarding my children. Just listen to the answer would you? Ta.

, , ,

  1. #1 by motherventing on January 29, 2012 - 12:54 pm

    Mahahahah my great aunt does this to us all the time. ‘Oh isn’t he lovely?’ ‘Yes, SHE is’ etc etc

    YOU CAN’T WIN. Just kick ‘em in the shins and run away. Not gentle. But effective.

  2. #2 by plus2point4 on January 29, 2012 - 4:17 pm

    Old people are ijits.And I don’t understand why people have to know or discuss the child’s gender any way.It’s why I dress my girls in anything but pink.Just to piss people off who think colour they wear denotes their sex.You ought to pink a t-shirt ‘I’m a girl because I’m wearing fucking huge pink flowers’.I’d buy it.

  3. #3 by Love All Blogs on January 29, 2012 - 7:39 pm

    heh heh heh we gte this all the time with Ozzy who has he-man-esque blond hair. even when wearing a digger jumper and wielding a dinosaur – grrr!

    You need to carry a rolled up paper to thwart folk like this ;)

  4. #4 by Actually Mummy... on January 29, 2012 - 9:22 pm

    Brilliant! And – ever noticed how some old people are lovely to your kids and some positively spit at them? Old people – it’s all about them ;)

  5. #5 by Sarah james (@apartyofseven) on January 29, 2012 - 10:32 pm

    yup…i get asked all the time about the lovely little boy in the buggy..i have four little girls…obviously need more pink :)

  6. #6 by Laura @Chez_Mummy on January 29, 2012 - 10:34 pm

    We used to get this sort of thing with our little girl until she was about two-years-old. There seems to be a general rule among some that any little being dressed in trousers must obviously be a boy. Even if said trousers are pink. Go figure

  7. #7 by Carol Staples on February 2, 2012 - 7:57 am

    Oh lord I had to laugh, thank you. Mind, I am old and bonkers! My Nana had the dreaded Alzheimers. She saw my niece and said “Oh what a dear little boy!”. “It’s a girl Nan”, said my sister. “Oh is he? the poor little fella” replied Nan, sadly. bwahaaa at your blog. xx

  1. 7 x 7 « motherventing
  2. Growing Up Quickly « slightlysuburbandad

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,319 other followers

